JFScope

Submit an RFQ

Supplier review example

How evidence and comparable costs inform a sourcing decision.

Fictional worked example. Suppliers, documents, findings and figures are invented to demonstrate the review method. This is not a real client assessment.

Scenario
1,000 custom CNC-machined aluminum housings, one drawing revision and agreed finish.

Comparison basis
USD, delivered to the same warehouse in China. Includes tooling, packing, inland freight, supplier-side material testing and QC documentation.

Excluded from all three comparisons: buyer-side service fees, independent third-party inspection, export clearance, international freight, insurance, import duties and taxes. Supplier-side testing does not replace independent inspection; this is not a destination landed cost.

Supplier comparison

Supplier A

Capacity check needed

Entity & Production: Identity documents match; in-house capacity remains unconfirmed.

Quality & Evidence: Certificate scope and active status verified; finishing QC records needed.

Commercial Scope: Tooling, packing and freight itemized; payment-release criteria needed.

Base $14.80 → $15.65 / unit

Next action: Consider sampling only after capacity evidence and acceptance criteria are agreed. Buyer approval required.

Full review & cost breakdown

Identity and capacity
Business licence and registry details match. Manufacturing capacity is not established by registration alone.

Certificate / material evidence
Quality certificate entity, scope and active registry status confirmed. Finishing-partner QC records still required.

Production / subcontracting
Sales claims core machining is in-house and finishing is outsourced. Capability evidence and finishing-partner records still required.

Commercial gaps
Quotation itemizes tooling, packing and transport. Payment release criteria still need written agreement.

Suggested next action
Consider a sample only after capacity evidence and acceptance criteria are agreed. Buyer approval required.

Cost breakdown (USD)

Base unit price
14.80
One-time tooling / order
500.00
Packaging / order
200.00
Inland transport / order
150.00
Material testing & QC documentation / order
Factory testing included in base price
Extra cost per unit
(500 + 200 + 150) / 1,000 = 0.85
Comparable unit cost
15.65
Comparable order total
15,650.00

Supplier B

Hold: evidence gaps

Entity & Production: Registered as a trading company; actual producing factory not disclosed.

Quality & Evidence: Certificate names a different entity; coverage applicability unresolved.

Commercial Scope: Base quote omits tooling, packing, freight and factory testing.

Base $12.90 → $15.40 / unit

Next action: Pause selection until certificate applicability, production responsibility and quote scope are clarified.

Full review & cost breakdown

Identity and capacity
Registration is consistent with trading activity. Producing factory has not been disclosed.

Certificate / material evidence
Certificate names a different entity. Relationship and applicability are unresolved; do not treat it as proof of coverage.

Production / subcontracting
Producing site and subcontractors not disclosed. No deposit decision until production responsibility is clarified.

Commercial gaps
Lowest base price omits tooling, packing, transport, and factory testing/QC documents. Compare the common cost basis below.

Suggested next action
Hold pending certificate clarification, producing-site disclosure and a complete quotation.

Cost breakdown (USD)

Base unit price
12.90
One-time tooling / order
850.00
Packaging / order
400.00
Inland transport / order
450.00
Material testing & QC documentation / order
800.00
Extra cost per unit
(850 + 400 + 450 + 800) / 1,000 = 2.50
Comparable unit cost
15.40
Comparable order total
15,400.00

Supplier C

Hold: unresolved terms

Entity & Production: 8 insured staff vs. 80 claimed; outsourced finishing lacks batch linkage.

Quality & Evidence: Material report dated 2021; current-order applicability unconfirmed.

Commercial Scope: Material repricing terms and quote validity window left open-ended.

Base $13.50 → $15.70 / unit

Next action: Pause selection until current material evidence, batch traceability and bounded commercial terms are provided.

Full review & cost breakdown

Identity and capacity
Documents show 8 insured staff; sales claims 80 workers. Reporting periods and staffing arrangements need explanation.

Certificate / material evidence
Material report dated 2021. Applicability to current material and revision is unconfirmed; age alone does not prove expiry.

Production / subcontracting
Process notes omit batch linkage for outsourced finishing. Request traceability records and controls.

Commercial gaps
Quotation leaves material-price adjustment open. Obtain a defined validity period and repricing method.

Suggested next action
Hold pending current material evidence, traceability records and bounded commercial terms.

Cost breakdown (USD)

Base unit price
13.50
One-time tooling / order
600.00
Packaging / order
300.00
Inland transport / order
400.00
Material testing & QC documentation / order
900.00
Extra cost per unit
(600 + 300 + 400 + 900) / 1,000 = 2.20
Comparable unit cost
15.70
Comparable order total
15,700.00

A lower price does not close evidence gaps. Supplier B reaches $15.40 per unit once $2,500 in omitted baseline costs are included—just $0.25 below Supplier A. It remains on hold until certificate applicability and the producing site are clarified.

Decision record: Your review includes open issues, required evidence, action owners, deadlines and buyer approval status. We document verification sources, dates, methods and reviewers so you can trace each finding. Document consistency is not the same as independently verified capacity.

Download sample PDF
Back to homepage Submit an RFQ
Scroll to Top